Dare to go wireless? My review of the Aftershokz Wireless Trekz Titanium Headphones

Disclaimer: I received Aftershokz Wireless Trekz Titanium Headphones to review as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews!”
I have an “on again-off again” relationship with listening to music while running.  Some weeks I NEED music to get my butt moving, while other weeks I want zero distractions.  So when I was offered the chance to trial the Aftershokz Wirelss Trekz Titanium Headphones, I jumped at the opportunity.  IMG_8451
I should first explain some of the issues I have with typical earbud headphones, and why I wanted to trial the Aftershokz Wirelss Trekz Titanium Headphones.  I have let’s say “a few” piercings in my ears.  This tends to cause some issues when wearing earbuds. Sometimes my piercings move around and will cause a clicking sound on the earbuds, or they cause some discomfort with the earbuds being in my ears.  Another issue I have with my regular earbuds is, the wires constantly move and get snagged, and over all irritate me while on long runs.  I am prone to whip out my phone and take pics while running., so having a wire connected to the phone can get annoying.
When I first received the Afterhokz Wireless headphones, I was very excited to hear the sound quality. These are not just regular wireless headphones.  These headphones do not go in the ear at all.  They rest on the temples and use what is called a “bone conduction technology”.IMG_8502 Long story short, you can hear the sound perfectly clear, even though it’s not in your ears.  Another thing I tested out right away was, could anyone else hear my music too? And the answer was no! Or at least, not as long as I kept it to a normal volume.  IMG_8316
I have had the chance to try out the Aftershokz wireless headphones for several weeks, and here’s how it went:
Trial 1: I wanted to get a feel for the headphones on a walk, just in case they didn’t fit right, or I couldn’t get them to work well.  I went on a 1 mile walk with my dog.  The Aftershokz felt very light and very loose feeling, so  I was worried they might shake off at first.  But they definitely stayed on the entire walk, and I even made my dog jog a bit just to test them out while running. They still stayed on!
IMG_8512
Trial 2: 10 mile trail run trial.  I just started to get hooked on a new podcast series called “Serial”.  I got through 2 full episodes on my run before I even remembered I was wearing headphones at all.
Trial 3: I used the Aftershokz on another 10 mile run.  They still felt great and very comfortable.  The only snag I had was how much it drained  the battery on my phone.  In order to connect the headphones, you have to turn on your bluetooth connectivity.  I didn’t have my phone 100% charged before this run.  I was also wearing my gps watch which can connect through bluetooth as well.  I didn’t have this charge 100% either.  Because the bluetooth was on, my phone automatically connected to the headphones and the gps watch for the entire 10 mile run.  This caused my gps watch to die and eventually my phone.  So note to self, disconnect the gps watch from the phone when using the Aftershokz.
I have trialed them many more times besides these 3 examples, and here is my quick rundown of pros and cons about the Aftershokz Wireless Trekz Titanium Headphones:
PROS:
  • no fuss connection to phone
  • lightweight
  • comfortable fit
  • great sound quality
  • long battery life
  • zero slippage or adjusting during workouts
  • water resistant

CONS:

  • drains phone battery a bit
  • continuously stolen by boyfriend

 

I have already recommended these headphones to several of my friends and have found my boyfriend using them on more than one occasion. If you’re in the market for a new pair of reliable headphones….these are it! IMG_8655

2 thoughts on “Dare to go wireless? My review of the Aftershokz Wireless Trekz Titanium Headphones

Leave a Reply

