One Week to go-May8-May14 Training For Ice Age 50k

One week until my 2nd 50k, the Ice Age 50k.  The final week before a big race is always stressful to me. I’m constantly thinking about how I’m going to run my race, what the temperature is going to be, what am I all going to pack…and on…and on…and on.  It’s also especially weird for me, since this was the first year in 6 years that I didn’t run the Wisconsin half marathon or marathon.  Last year I took on the Mittens Challenge and loved every second of it.  This year, I was merely a spectator.

IMG_5393

This week is technically the beginning of my Half Ironman training.  I can already tell I’m not off to the right foot with this training.  My goals have changed throughout the years.  I used to be purely a Triathlon girl-always looking at different triathlons to sign up for and compete at.  But the past 2 years its been running, running, running! Hopefully I can kick my butt into gear after the 50k is over.

But for now, I just need to focus on my 50k on Saturday.  Here is my training plan for my final week of tapering.

Sunday: 6-8 mile trail run

Monday: 4 mile run with MKE-OMG and an hour bike

Tuesday: 4 miles with Pavement Gods (usually I do hills, but I’ll be taking it easy on the trails)

Wednesday: 1 hour bike + 30 min run (1st brick workout!)

Thursday: 1 hour swim

Friday: REST!!! and Race prep!

Saturday: ICE AGE 50K!!!!!!!

 

Leave a Reply

