A Week of Training & Trails (July 25-31)

The temperatures this week cooperated with a heavy mileage week. I’m 7 weeks out from The North Face Endurance Challenge 50 miler in Eagle, Wisconsin (check out my discount page for a discount).

Tuesday: I started the morning with 25 minutes of Strength Training for Trail Runners.  I’m working on getting my hips stronger and my agility back up to par.  I can tell my hips are weak right now, every time I try to push myself on the trails.  Tuesday night I did 20 minutes of hill repeats at Petrified Springs Park with the Pavement Gods.  These hill repeats are brutal, but they will pay off! I followed this will a faster than usual 4 mile run (under an 8:30 min/mile pace).IMG_0105

Wednesday: I did a 1 hour bike ride, followed by a 3 mile run with my dog.  My legs felt like jello after the bike ride.  But later that night, I had my second run of the day. I ran 5 1/2 miles with Milwaukee Running Group-OMG.  I tried to push through the tightness in my hamstrings, but they didn’t loosen up at all.

Thursday: I was supposed to run 8 miles, but my legs were not moving.  Or at least not moving well. I ended up doing a 6 mile walk/run in my neighborhood, just to get the time on my feet. This rough run was happily interrupted when I caught up to someone in the neighborhood walking their new husky pup.  I met this pup when he was only 8 weeks old, and now he’s around 12 weeks old and getting big! I can’t resist playing with the fluffy ball of fur.  Thursday night I was nervous that my hamstrings were still super tight, so I did everything I could think of to get them to relax-stretching, rolling, Epsom salt bath…IMG_0113

Friday: I was happy to find my legs were feeling a lot better. This was perfect timing for my long run.  I started my run at 4 a.m. and finished 21 miles before 8 a.m. I had two running buddies to keep me company on my last 15 miles, which helped a ton! We even chose a different route than our typical long runs,  which included more hills and a change of scenery.  We kept to a comfortable 9:37 min/mile average pace and I ended feeling like I still had plenty left in the legs to keep going.

Saturday: I didn’t get moving in time to get my 6 mile run in before I had to leave for a family event.  So I ended up running 6 miles in the evening.  This gave me a few extra hours to recoup and hydrate.

Sunday: I hit the trails! REI had a get outdoors weekend planned at Lapham Peak.  SIMG_0138o I chose to do 2 loops of the black to blue route.  I hit up their aid station twice, filling up on free Nuun and Clif bars.  Yum! In total I got 13 1/2 miles out on the trails!

This brought me to 62 miles for the week.  This coming week, I’m expected to get 69 miles.  Definitely taking advantage of my rest day today!

Leave a Reply

