AMPLA Fly Review

*Disclaimer: I received an pair of AMPLA FLY to review as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews!*

I was in the market for a new pair of running shoes….but then again when am I not looking for new running shoes.  While training for my first 50-mile race at The North Face Endurance Challenge, I was putting in a lot of miles and tearing through a lot of shoes. img_0385When I was introduced to the AMPLAFly shoes, I was intrigued.  The whole idea behind these revolutionary shoes is to “encourage better mechanics” and “empowers the efficient use of force.” This in turn would help the athlete run faster. In the shoe, there is a carbon fiber plate that uses the force from your foot strike to propel you forward.

The Trial

The first time I tried out the shoes was probably not an ideal time.  I wanted to do a short shake out run the day after my 50k race.  My feet were still swollen, so the toe box area felt tight.  The thing that did feel good was the spring back from the carbon fiber plate.  I tend to run as a forefoot to midfoot striker, so feeling the response from the carbon fiber plate felt great on a short run.

img_0443

The second time I trialed the AMPLAFly shoes was during a round of hill repeats and a quick shake out run. The hills were a bit difficult to climb the hills in since the plate makes for a stiffer landing.  But the downhill felt great and allowed me to feel more in control.  The shakeout run felt comfortable as well for 4 miles.

img_0542

Overview

After trialing these shoes several more times, I find them ideal on fast, short runs. They are recommended for use on the track or flat training runs.  And after trying them on hills, I would  agree that these are ideal for flat courses. Another great aspect about these shoes that I haven’t found in any other shoe company so far is the high degree of communication AMPLA Sports has with the consumer.  The company sells directly to the consumer, so there is no store middle man.  They also allow for a 30-day, no questions asked return policy.  The company is happy to answer any question or concerns directly from the consumer.  Are you ready to try the new revolution in running?

3 thoughts on “AMPLA Fly Review

Leave a Reply

