Review: LEGEND Performance Compression Socks

*Disclaimer: I received a pair of LEGEND Performance Compression Socks to review as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews!*

I’ve had a full range of races this img_1031fall-from ultras to 5ks. The weather is changing from blazing hot temps to cold and windy days. With these variables, I always seem to forget what I should wear for a run in these changing conditions. Should I wear tights, shorts, long sleeves, arm sleeves? So many options. My go to fall outfit tends to be a tank top with shorts and compression sleeves. But I don’t like to wear my compression sleeves for too long because they tend to cause my feet to cramp up and swell. That, and they can be a major pain to take off my legs after a hard run.

img_1030A few weeks ago I was offered the opportunity to try out the LEGEND Performance Compression Socks. According to their website, their compression wear uses a “Graduated Compression Technology” to help promote blood flow and oxygen to your legs. Their motto is that the compression wear fits “right not tight.”

The Trial

The first time I wore the Legend Compression socks was for a 6 mile run. Right away I noticed they were not overly tight like my other compression gear, which made them easier to put on. When I started walking with them on, I also noticed that my feet felt a lot smaller in my shoes. I had to tighten the laces a bit. While running my calf muscles felt comfortable despite the faster pace we were running. After a while, I forgot I was even wearing them, even when I went straight to dinner with my running group.  I wore them all night without any discomfort.

When taking them off at the end of the night, I also noticed how easy it was to take off these compression socks, versus some other brands I have used in the past.

I used them on several other runs, from quick 3 mile runs to 13 miles with similar results.  But one complaint is that these socks took a considerably long time to dry whenever I had to wash them.  The directions say to hand wash or put on gentle cycle, then tumble dry with no heat or lay flat to dry.  I chose to lay them flat to dry.  I almost wanted to buy another pair while testing them out just so I wouldn’t have to wait a few days in between wearing them.

Summary

These are definitely the most comfortable active wear compression socks that I’ve worn.  I’m excited to wear these for my next ultra in January.  Now, which color should I buy next?

Leave a Reply

