Recovery Made Easy: Review of EPSOAK® Sport

**Disclaimer: I received a canister of EPSOAK® Sport to review as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews!**

I used to be the type of runner that could go out for a 10 mile run, come home and feel completely fine.  Things are a little different now that I’ve hit my 30’s. Now I come home from a hard run, and I feel every muscle that was used for 2 days. To recover after a hard run or workout, I have to try every trick in the book.

Some things that I’ve tried:

  1. Ice Bath- Yes, I’ve done many ice baths in my day.  They suck, but they do have a quick return on “investment.” If you can suck it up enough, you’re body will thank you with a quicker recovery.  However, how many people actually want to sit in an ice bath for 15 minutes? My trick to getting through an ice bath is setting up my protein shake, water, and coffee next to the tub, some reading materials (aka, Runner’s World Magazine), and even my laptop with a comedy playing on Netflix.  Usually this does the trick and distracts me enough during the 15 minute torture fest. img_0301
  2. Foam Rolling- I am very bad at convincing myself to do foam rolling after working out.  It can be painful at times, and I’m going to be honest-I don’t know if I’m doing it right.  There’s a bit of a learning curb with foam rolling. Usually, I find myself only foam rolling if I feel extra stress or soreness in a particular area.  I don’t include this in my recovery routine nearly enough.
  3. Epsom Salt Bath-I’m not going to lie, this is my favorite recovery trick. I can convince myself to do a Epsom salt bath even when I haven’t worked out.  There’s nothing difficult about it.  Just start a warm bath, pour some Epsom salt into the water, soak, and relax.  What’s not to like?

img_1444

So when I was offered the opportunity to trial EPSOAK® Sport from San Francisco Salt Co., I gladly volunteered.  EPSOAK® uses a premium grade of of Epsom salt, making it ideal for athlete recovery.  Some of the benefits they claim for athletes are:

  • Decrease sore muscle recovery time
  • Sports injury prevention
  • Detox the body
  • Reduce inflammation

To use this product, you simply pour two scoop fulls into a warm bath.  Then soak in the bath for at least 12 minutes.

This product definitely has an edge that I wasn’t expecting.  I’ve thrown my ice baths to the curb over the past month, because I already run in the cold, so why would I want to recover in the cold? But taking Epsom Salt baths with EPSOAK® Sport have been an excellent addition to my recovery routine.  It leaves me feeling more relaxed and refreshed, which is what I need during my ultra training this winter.

img_1458

3 thoughts on “Recovery Made Easy: Review of EPSOAK® Sport

Leave a Reply

