Running with an Energetic Pup: Review of the Stunt Runner Leash from Stunt Puppy

*Disclaimer: I received a Stunt Runner from Stunt Puppy to review as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews!*

Since getting Mr. Cooper almost a year ago, img_1103my life hasn’t been the same since.  He’s a big fur ball of energy and won’t take no for an answer. One of his favorite things to do, besides snuggling is going for a run! As soon as he sees me putting on my running shoes, he starts to run around the house, jumping and going crazy! I love running with Cooper, but what I’m not a fan of is having to hold onto his leash the entire run. This can be particularly bothersome when we go for a 4-5 mile run.

BibRave offered me the opportunity to test out the Stunt Runner Leash from Stunt Puppy. The first trial with Cooper took some adjusting.  I wore the belt section a bit too tight at first, so every time Cooper tugged, I lost my breath.  However, after a little adjusting, the belt section of the leash felt more comfortable.  I had to wear the belt a lot looser than originally thought.

Another thing that took some adjusting at first was how to control my crazy energetic lab from pulling me. If anyone has a lab, you know what I’m talking about.  I did some investigating, and Stunt Puppy also sells a Go Dog Glo Harness, to reduce pulling.  I wish I would have had more time to trial the harness as well.

Instead of a harness, I used my img_1137Gentle Leader Headcollar, which helped in the past with controlling Cooper’s energetic outbursts. When using his Stunt Puppy Leash along with the Gentle Leader, this proved to be the perfect combination.  Cooper and I went for 6  miles  on a run, the longest run yet! Both him and I felt like we could have gone further.  The fact that I didn’t have to hold the leash and minimal yanking, made our run a lot more relaxing.  It was nice not having to continually readjust my grip on a leash, and Cooper enjoyed that too.

Now Cooper and I are taking advantage of our nice and easy runs together. Happy Pup, Happy Life!

One thought on “Running with an Energetic Pup: Review of the Stunt Runner Leash from Stunt Puppy

Leave a Reply

