Search For the Perfect Headphones: Review of Aftershokz Sportz Titanium Headphones

*Disclaimer: I received Aftershokz Sportz Titanium Headphones to review as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews!*

Some days are more difficult than others to convince myself to go out for a run. One motivator that proves to work on most occasions is listening to music or podcasts while running. Listening to music or podcasts has a way of turning my brain off from the reality, even if it’s only for a few minutes. With using music as a motivator, it also brings another challenge, especially for long runs; What headphones work the best? In the past, I have used several different headphones when listening to music while running. Here is a quick overview of which headphones have and have not worked for me in the past.IMG_8451

iPhone headphones– these are sleek and lightweight.  However, when running, they tend to fall out of my ears.

Earbuds– These have been my go to in the past for long runs, because they stay in my ears for the most part, and stay moderately comfortable for some of my 5+ hours runs and races. However, when it is warm outside, they tend to slip out of my ear.  Another concern of mine has always been safety.  When I have the earbuds in my ears, I cannot hear much of anything around me. So I’ve always had to to keep one earbud out of my ear.

IMG_8316Aftershokz Trekz Titanium-I trialed these wireless headphones almost a year ago.  I loved that you did not have to put them in your ear.  Instead they sat on your temples and used bone conduction technology.  This was particularly nice when running with friends, because you can still hear conversations clear as day.  It is also nice that I am able to hear my surroundings for safety reasons. However, with these wireless headphones, they drain the battery on my iPhone, and do not last for an entire race. For shorter runs (under 2 hours), these are my go to headphones. img_1227

Aftershokz Sportz Titanium– I was happy to see that Aftershokz developed a wired headphone, with the same bone conduction technology.  This allows me to still have the benefits of hearing my friends chat while listening to music for longer runs, without the fear that my phone will die. The headphones need to be charged, but they last 12 hours, which is perfect for my 50 mile race coming up! The headphones also have a microphone, which is convenient at work when I want to listen to music, answer phone calls, and still be aware of my surroundings. Another nice feature is how comfortable and stable they stay on my head.  Even in windy conditions, the headphones stayed in place.  The only con that I noticed with these headphones is that when wearing a thick hat or cover-it over my ears, the headphones tended to slip a bit.

Years of running while listening to music is finally getting easier and more comfortable.  Aftershokz definitely listened to their client when developing the Aftershokz Sportz Titanium Headphones and I look forward to seeing what other great features and headphones they come up with.

img_1083

Leave a Reply

