Training Plans and Forming Goals: Week of March 10th

*Disclaimer: I received a free entry to North Shore Classic and Rock n’ Roll Chicago as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews!*

Training plans are never  set in stone.  This is something I’ve finally convinced myself of.  In the past, I would pick a training plan and then inevitably something would happen (a sickness, an injury, a busy day at work…). I would make myself feel guilty for not sticking to this plan, which would fill me with fatigue on a regular basis. But this is life, and your training plan needs to fit in that life, otherwise, it just won’t work! That’s why I see my training plan as fluid.

I have several goals in place that I’m preparing for:

  • Training for Ice Age 50 Miler – May 13th
  • Changing gears over the summer and focusing on Triathlons and Half Marathon training.
  • Running the North Shore Classic Half Marathon on June 4th
  • Running the Rock n’ Roll Half Marathon in Chicago on July 16th
  • Slowly transitioning back to long distance trail
  • Marquette Ultra 50k on August 19th
  • The North Face Endurance Challenge 50k on September 16th

With these goals in mind, I was going all out with training for Ice Age 50 Miler over the winter.  I picked a little more intense of a training plan than on my previous 50 milers, just to see if I could push myself a little harder. However, life does what it does best, and IMG_8212changes plans. I got a new job, which threw in a whole new set of challenges.  I now had to change my running routine as well as deal with work fatigue.

My original plan had 6 running days a week and 3 days of strength training.  However, I was completely worn out by the time the weekend hit, physically and mentally.  So now I switched to 5 running days (adding some distance during the runs in the middle of the week to make up for the extra rest day). Hopefully this does the trick.

I do believe that switching to a different focus of Triathlons and Half Marathons this summer will help with motivation as well.  I haven’t had the chance to properly train for a Half Marathon in years.  I would love to beat my PR of 1:51, which was set 2 years ago.  It will also be nice to have an extra opportunity to hang out with friends in Chicago!

Leave a Reply

