Tearing Up the Twilight 10k

*Disclaimer: I received a free entry to Run Madtown Twilight 10k as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews!*

If I haven’t said it enough, I was super excited to run the Run Madtown Twilight 10k again this year.  This race has by far one of my favorite 10k routes, with a beautiful tour of Madison as the sun sets on the horizon.

IMG_2285

This year I had to work Saturday morning, so I was cutting it close to the expo/packet pickup time.  I made it with 15 minutes  to spare! I wish I could have spent more time checking out all the vendors, but at least I made it in time to buy a running belt since I forgot mine at home.  After packet pickup I headed back to the hotel to get ready for the race.

I ventured back down to the start line of the race around 7:30pm to meet up with my fellow BibRave Pro buddy, Angie! While we were waiting, we got to watch the 5k racers start.  As soon as they were through the start line, it was time for us to line up.  IMG_2290

At 8:10pm we were off! We ran around downtown Madison before finally approaching Observatory hill.  This hill kills me every time. The one nice thing about Observatory hill is the view at the top.  Here you can overlook part of UW-Madison Campus and the lake. Unfortunately this is not the end of the hills, but at least this year I was prepared for them.  At the half way point, we start the trek back towards the capital. This is the second best view of the race, because you can see the capital building lit up at night, calling you towards the finish line.  The remainder of the race winds through UW-Madison campus, past Camp Randall, and along the bike path. The entire way, students lined the route, cheering for all the runners. Towards the finish,  the photographers are staged to take free photos. I love free photos, but it’s hard to put a smile on at the end of a hot and hilly 10k. I did finally smile when I turned the last corner to see the finish line. _BSP6040

The race definitely feels like a party zone just past the finish line.  First I got my medal and water, then came some finisher pics.  Finally the free Rocky Rococo pizza and free beer!

I really look forward to this race every year.  And now I have some awesome free pics to remind me of this event!

Leave a Reply

