Preparing for The Color Run: The Messy Truth

*Disclaimer: I received a free entry to The Color Run – Chicago race as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews!*

12.1Brand_Social1

Tomorrow I am running The Color Run in Chicago.  It’s been a few years since I’ve ran one of these races so I quickly looked up a few things about the race.  One thing I noticed is that the paint can stain your clothes and hair.  This was a fun aspect a couple years ago when I was in my 20’s, but today makes me nervous about going into work on Monday with a streak of pink in my hair.  But how do I prepare for this while still having fun at the race?

 

The Color Run came to the rescue! They posted some recommendations for taking full advantage of the different color zones, without having the scare of semi-permanent streaks on your hair, skin, and clothes. Here I’m listing some of my favorite recommendation along with a few others that I thought of:

  1. Put oil in your hair before the race.  The oil acts as a barrier against the color powder!
  2. Wear a bandanna or Buff® over your face and hair.
  3. Use the “Color Blower Station” at the post-race party to get all the excess color off of your clothes and skin.
  4. Prepare your car for the ride home. I am putting a garbage bag and a towel on my seat, so I don’t have to worry about the color coming off on my car.
  5. Carry wet towelettes to help wash up your skin after the race.
  6. If you still have color stained hair, The Color Run suggests using baking soda and blue Dawn dish soap to help rinse it out.

With these preparations in mind, I’m more excited than ever to have fun and get COLORFUL!

P.S.-Check out my bib that I colored myself at the top!

2017-tour-map

Leave a Reply

