Review of Buff® UV Arm Sleeves

*Disclaimer: I received a pair of Buff® UV Arm Sleeves to review as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews!*

I don’t know how familiar you are with Wisconsin weather, but it can be a bit unpredictable.  For example, last year during my ultra race in May it was snowing.  This year during the same race we had temperatures in the mid 80’s.  How do you prepare for the unexpected?

This month I was offered the opportunity to test out the Buff® UV Arm Sleeves.  These arm sleeves have reflectivity, UV protection, moisture wicking, and they are  lightweight, compressible, and packable. With this list of details, I was interested in trying them for some of my early morning runs, as well as, on some bike rides.

IMG_2222

My first time time wearing them was on my bike trainer. I wanted to get a feel for them before taking them outside. I tend to wear long leaves when I’m on my bike, because it helps with control when I’m on my aero bars.  I like the idea of arm sleeves, because I can wear a tank top or a short sleeve shirt when it warms up. The arm sleeves were very comfortable during my entire ride even when I started to warm up.

IMG_2331My second time wearing the Buff® arm sleeves was during an early morning run.  The temperature was in the low-50s, so usually I would either rough it in a short sleeve till I warmed up, or wear a thin long-sleeve. The arm sleeves were very comfortable the entire run.  I ran 6 miles and completely forgot I was wearing them.  Part of the reason they are so comfortable is because I did not over heat when I wore them.  Once I started to perspire, the arm sleeves started to feel cool.  I also liked that they have reflectivity, which helps keep me visible on my early morning runs.

Next, I wore them for a long bike ride.  I went out for a 30 mile ride, but ended up only being 20 due to a thunderstorm that hit half way through my ride. The temperatures fluctuated throughout the long ride due to the pending storm.  It was nice to have the Buff® UV Arm Sleeves because they protected me from the drastic cold wind and then the hot sun.

Some other great features I noticed when trialing the Buff® arm sleeves

+They are easy to put on and take off

+They don’t feel too tight like other arm sleeves

+ I didn’t get chafing from them like other arm sleeves

I look forward to adding the Buff® UV Arm Sleeves to my regular running gear! I hope you try them out too!IMG_2321

Leave a Reply

