Ready for Race Day: Rock ‘n’ Roll Chicago

*Disclaimer: I received a free entry to Humana Rock ‘n’ Roll Chicago Half Marathon as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews!*

This weekend really crept up on me! I’ve been looking forward to Rock ‘n’ Roll Chicago since February and now it’s only 1 day away.  I’ve only done one Rock ‘n’ Roll race in the past, and that was several years ago in Las Vegas.  I remember it well because it was the first half marathon I ran under 2 hours.  The Rock ‘n’ Roll races always seem to be a whole weekend event.  They aren’t the type of race you show up, run, and go home.  So here’s how my weekend is going…

SaturdayIMG_2842

I got to the expo late afternoon.  I drove to McCormick Place because the race offers $10 parking at McCormick Place.  I took full advantage of the expo and walked around for almost an hour! At the tail end of walking around the expo I ran into another BibRave Pro! Always a good time when I can hang out with friends!

SundayIMG_2851

Because the race is so early in the morning, traffic should be a breeze to get to the race from Wisconsin.  Last time I made the drive to Grant Park in one hour flat! I already purchased parking  from Park Whiz only 2 blocks away from the start line for only $15, so that’s one less thing to worry about.

For this race, I set an easier goal set for myself, so that I can fully enjoy the after party.  Once the race is over, I’m looking forward to my post-race beer and to listen to some live bands! Check out the entertainment lineup:

Opening Act – Chicago Funk Mafia: 7:30am – 8:15am
Awards Ceremony: 8:15am – 8:30am:
Second Act – Chicago Funk Mafia: 8:30am – 9:15am:
Headliner – Dirty Dozen Brass Band: 9:45am – 11:00am
Closing Act (PA): 11:00am – 12:00pm

This should make for a great day. Hope to see you all there!

IMG_2849

Leave a Reply

